Organisational Profile

Home | About Us | Staff & Panel | Board of Trustees


Board of Trustees

Dr Ngoato Takalo is currently principal of the Vista University East Rand Campus in Daveytown, Benoni. She has a PhD in Education from Columbia University Teachers College in New York and several professional qualifications in the field of management. She has acted as a consultant for various international agencies, taught at high school and tertiary levels and written papers on gender and education transformation among other topics. Dr Takalo’s combination of education and management training and her interest in gender equip her most aptly for her role as chairperson of the GETNET Board. Dr Takalo is currently Vice Chancellor of the University of the North West.

Pethu Serote is a founder and Director of GETNET and has an MA in Education from the University of Southampton. She has taught at school, tertiary and adult education levels. She has worked in the areas of gender activism, administration and conflict resolution. Her research covers a wide range of topics from education and national liberation, to gender issues and teaching methodologies.

Jeremy Daphne is a Commissioner at the Commission for Conciliation, Mediation and Arbitration (CCMA). He has been associated with the trade union movement and mediation work for many years. He has an MA in Development Studies from the Institute of Social Studies in The Hague. His MA research focused on feminist theory and waged work. He has developed policies on parental rights and responsibilities for the trade union movement.

Professor Amanda Gouws is an Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of Stellenbosch. She has a PhD from the University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana), USA. She has won prestigious awards in the academic field and has extensive experience as a lecturer and has numerous national and international publications in the areas of gender and South African politics. Professor Gouws was a member of the Gender Equity Task team in the Office of the Minister of Education and a Founder member and Convener of the Gender Caucus of the South African Political Science Association.

Geoffrey Mamputa is Business Manager of Creative Response. He was educated at the Universities of Fort Hare and Cape Town and holds an MBA from Heriott-Watt University in the USA. He has extensive experience in community work and is widely known for his work in organisational development.

Mihloti Mathye is Head of the Policy and Research Unit at the Commission for Gender Equality (CGE). She has an MSc in medical psychiatry from the University of Surrey (U.K.) and extensive experience in the field of social work. More recently, she has been involved in establishing in South Africa, the international instruments developed at the Convention for the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in 1985 and at the Beijing Conference in 1995. Mihloti Mathye has also represented South Africa at international meetings, developed training manuals and monitored progress towards gender equity at all levels of South African society.

Kaiser Thibedi has completed courses in management, gender training and conflict resolution at the same time as studying for a Theology degree through UNISA. He serves on the Board of several community organisations.

Trustees who joined us in 2002 are Rita Edwards, Moses Cloete and Rosieda Shaboodien.

Home | Organisational Profile | Getnet's Approach| Publications | What's New | Links